european William James Project : Statutes

The EWJP, founded in June 2001, seeks to promote –mainly under the guise of scientific meetings in Europe– the study of the life and work of William James (1842-1910). Its basic structure is fourfold: the “steering committee”, the “scientific committee”, the “delegates”, and the “regular members”.

The Project is powered by a “steering committee” made up of four European scholars chosen by cooptation. The founding members are Jack Barbalet, Jaime Nubiola, Timothy L. S. Sprigge, and Michel Weber. Every year, starting in January 2003, one member volunteers to make his/her seat available. Provided that all four members agree on a candidate, the mandate passes to a newcomer. For his/her part, the exiting member becomes a senior member of the scientific committee.

The “scientific committee” is made of past and present members of the steering committee. As necessary, this committee can be supported by temporary members. Some members are appointed as “delegates” for countries or specific areas in order to locally foster the goals of the EWJP. The current delegates are the following:

Sergio Franzese

Delegate for Italy (Fellow researcher at Università degli Studi di Lecce and candidate PhD at Vanderbilt University) – sergiofranzese(at)

Felicitas Kraemer

Delegate for Germany and German speaking countries (Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg, Lehrstuhl II für Philosophie, 96045 Bamberg, Germany)

Mathias Girel

Delegate for France and French speaking countries (Département de Philosophie, Université Paris I-Panthéon Sorbonne, France) – internet

Izaskun Martinez

Delegate for Spain and Spanish speaking countries (Universidad de Navarra, Spain)

The “regular members” are anyone interested in supporting the Project. To become a member, one is asked to send an e-mail to the member of the steering committee in charge of membership –Jaime Nubiola– with a short CV. There is no membership fee. The working language of the network is English. A private mailing list is the main vector of communication; regular conferences and publications are expected in the near future.

Steering committee

Jack Barbalet

Professor and Head, Department of Sociology, University of Leicester, Leicester LE1 7RH, England

Jaime Nubiola

Depto. de Filosofia, Universidad de Navarra, 31080 Pamplona, Spain

Timothy Sprigge

(Emeritus), Dept. of Philosophy, David Hume Tower, George Square, Edinburgh EH8 9JX, Scotland

Michel Weber

Centre for Philosophical Practice, Belgium

SPIP | template | | Site Map | Follow-up of the site's activity RSS 2.0